EAA Awards

EAA AWARD For lifetime achievements in acoustics

To a person who has demonstrated outstanding scientific and/or industrial achievements in the field of acoustics during her/his career

2023 - Peter Lercher

2020 - Murray Campbell and Eddy Gerretsen

2017 - Hugo Fastl

2014 - Michel Bruneau

2011 - Jens Blauert

2008 - Gunnar Rasmussen

EAA AWARD For contributions to the promotion of Acoustics in Europe

To a person or entity whose past or recent activities in society (research, industry, teaching or politics) have contributed to elevate the interest for Acoustics in Europe

2023 - Michael Taroudakis

2020 - Head-Genuit Foundation

2017 - Antonio Perez-Lopez

2014 - Michael Vorländer and Luigi Maffei

2011 - Manell Zakharia

2008 - FASE Federation of Acoustical Societies of Europe 1971-1996

EAA AWARD For outstanding scientific results published in Acta Acustica united with Acustica

The award for outstanding recent research is given to a team of researchers for their contribution in the field of acoustics with the strict requirement that they published their results in the EAA scientific journal ACTA ACUSTICA UNITED WITH ACUSTICA within three years prior to the date that the award is given.

2011 - Maarten Hornikx and Jens Forssén

For their work on urban sound propagation and in particular on predicting noise levels in quiet backyards using scale models, first published in:

A Scale Model Study of Parallel Urban Canyons ACTA ACUSTICA UNITED WITH ACUSTICA Vol. 94 (2008) 265 – 281

2008 - Catherine Guastavino, Brian F.G. Katz, Jean-Dominique Polack, Daniel J. Levitin, Danièle Dubois

For their work on linguistic exploration of verbal data as a methodology for exploring the cognitive processing of environmental sounds, first published in:

Ecological Validity of Soundscape Reproduction ACTA ACUSTICA UNITED WITH ACUSTICA Vol. 91 (2005) 333 – 341